From Metro League


Metro League Reinforced Conference kicks off April 7

by Jim Lemuel Wilson, April 04, 2019 1:22pm

The Metro League Reinforced Conference is set to start on April 7 with the newcomer Bacoor team and the returning Pasig and Mandaluyong squads getting an early acid test from three mainstays in the triple-header opening day schedule at the San Juan gym.

Bacoor will debut against Caloocan in the 1 p.m. game while Pasig will have their hands full against Manila in the 2:30 tussle. Mandaluyong, meanwhile, will have to gut it out against the home team San Juan in the 4 p.m. main offering.

After its inaugural All-Filipino First Conference, the M-League Open, previously known as the Metro Basketball Tournament, is set to allow teams to field one import this conference as a total of 11 teams compete for the crown.

Last conference’s champion Valenzuela leads the eight founding citing set to return to the league. They are joined by North teams Manila, Marikina, Quezon City, and Caloocan along with South pioneer teams Pateros, Taguig, and San Juan.

After missing out the last conference, Marikina and Pasig will return while Bacoor City enters as the newest member of the league.

The M-League will also hold a 17-and-under tournament; a club, school, or organization-based 13-and-under boys basketball tourney; and a 17-and-under girls volleyball to be headed by commissioner Francis Vicente. All three tournaments are slated to start in late April.

The M-League is headed by tournament director Bonnie Tan, finance officer Waiyip Chong, deputy tournament director Fidel Mangonon III, basketball commissioner Glenn Capacio, and technical committee head Lou Gatumbato.

The Metro Manila Development Authority and the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) supports the M-League which has San Miguel Corporation as league presentor.

Is `Metro League Reinforced Conference kicks off April 7´ helpful?  Y  N

Related Tags: